African Architecture: Online Resources

An NGO (non-governmental organization) that gathers and organizes projects, research, and knowledge about African architecture and urbanism. Includes news articles, project summaries, and a publication database,

A union of African architects, formed with the goal of representing architects at a national and international level. Includes event information, job postings, and an architect directory.

Kenya’s leading Association for professionals in the built and natural environment in Kenya incorporating Architects, Quantity Surveyors, Town Planners, Engineers, Landscape Architects and Environmental Design Consultants and Construction Project Managers. Bringing together professionals from the Private Sector, Public Sector and Academia, the Association also acts as a link between professionals and stakeholders in the construction industry: Including policymakers, manufacturers, real estate developers and financial institutions. Includes access to various AAK magazines publications, current events, and member blog.

An organization that has an online design publication of the same name, a print publication called Design Indaba Magazine, a design think tank, and an overall focus on design and creativity in Africa. Includes news articles, information about conferences and programs, and an African designer directory.

A professional organization that provides information on the invaluable architectural and design services that are available to the general public and corporate architectural bodies. The GIA's goal is to create a useful tool in the promotion of the architectural practice with the opportunity to enroll in further professional development programs. Includes current events, workshops, news, and archives to prior lectures and events.

The Nigerian Institute of Architects (NIA) was founded in 1960 as an association of independent professional architects with the aim to foster friendship, mutual support, and professional collaboration among members. Includes recent news and current events.

The South African Institute of Architects is a voluntary association and is the natural successor to the Institute of South African Architects which was originally established in 1927 and renamed the South African Institute of Architects in 1996. SAIA acts as the collective voice serving the interests of its members in pursuit of excellence and responsible design. It aims to uphold the dignity of the architectural profession and contribute meaningfully to the enhancement of society and the environment. Includes access to the bi-monthly ArchSA journal and current events.