Site Analysis and Assessment - REA3022: Databases and Journals

Environment Complete database covers topics including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, public policy, geography, environmental technology, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, renewable energy sources, pollution and waste management, and urban planning.

The Boston edition of the National Equity Research Database, or “NERD Boston,” is a product of the Institute for Child, Youth and Family Policy’s flagship research project, diversitydatakids.org. It is a database of 286 socio-economic indicators on a wide range of subjects, including demography, education, employment, health, housing, earnings and ancestry covering the Boston metropolitan area.

PolicyMap database allows students to create maps of the United States down to the Census block group in many cases. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates.

ProQuest Digitized Newspapers includes newspaper content for 50 plus newspapers including American Banker, Barron’s, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Boston Globe, and the Wall Street Journal. It covers a scope of newspaper from 2008-present, with a 3 month embargo of most recently published content for all newspapers.

The Sustainability Reference Center database covers topics including corporate social responsibility, environmental stewardship, federal, state and local regulations, LEED, recycling, renewable energy, resource conservation, ISO 14000, waste reduction, social entrepreneurship, and green issues and initiatives.