Online Resources

BAC Databases

Fimo Fire Insurance Maps Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of high resolution, full-color fire insurance maps of Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Connecticut towns searchable by location. Includes street patterns, lot lines, property uses, and height.
Sources: Fire insurance maps from the Sanborn Map Company and other publishers such as Perris and Bromley, real estate atlases, and other historical maps.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Downloadable U.S. demographic, economic and social data by city, state, zip code, county, or census tract. Data exists for crime, home sale statistics, mortgage trends, health, education, and labor data.
Sources: Derived from public and proprietary sources that provide more than 10,000 indicators.

The Landscape Architect's Guide to Boston: Southwest Corridor Park
Provides overview and image slides, from the American Society of Landscape Architects.
Mapping Inequality
Mapping Inequality is a digital collaboration between the University of Richmond, Virginia Tech, and Maryland University which provides digitized and downloadable primary source maps created by the Home Owners' Loan Corporation - a dramatic visualization of redlining in the United States.
The Pluralism Project
Harvard University's Pluralism Project provides an interactive, online map of Boston-area religious centers.
Southwest Corridor Park
Contains maps, gardening information, images, and historical information.

Online Reports

The southwest corridor and economic development in Boston's neighborhoods
From the Internet Archive. Examines the extent to which the proposed parcel 18 mixed use development project in Boston's Roxbury neighborhood adjacent to the MA Bay Transportation Authority Ruggles Station will benefit the neighborhoods surrounding the parcel.
The southwest corridor study area development prospects
From the Internet Arcive. Includes projections of population, employment, land use and transportation use the years 1968, 1972, 1975, 1980 and 1990.
Southwest corridor urban design framework
From the Internet Archive. Proposal includes a fee proposal, a schedule and the firm's qualifications (with resumes of key personnel).
Background to planning for the development of Boston's southwest corridor
From the Internet Archive.
Southwest Corridor Study
From the Internet Archive. Investigates the potential for development within and adjacent to the area between Ruggles Street and Walk Hill Street; gives data on existing conditions including physical features, social and economic conditions, transportation, land use, etc.; also discusses air rights over the proposed Southwest Expressway.
Southwest Development Report
From the Internet Archive. Provides brief description of various proposals for the development of the corridor; discusses recommended improvements of public facilities and mass transit in specific parcels.

Online Reports- MBTA

Application of the Massachusetts bay transportation authority for a mass transportation capital improvement grant for the southwest corridor project, south cove to forest hills relocation.
From the Internet Archive. Provides description of the project and discussion of alternatives; estimates of costs, benefits, impacts, etc.
Southwest Corridor Development Plan
From the Internet Archive. Describes Boston's Southwest Corridor and it's background including the removal of I-95 from the Federal Highway Interstate System and the role of citizen participation in planning the uses of the corridor; discusses rapid transit, commuter rail improvements, and community development.
Southwest Corridor Development Plan- map
From the Internet Archive. Map depicts land use along the MBTA Southwest corridor; includes some text and photographs and some aerial views.
Draft Environmental Impact Statement, Orange line relocation and arterial street construction Vol 1
From the Internet Archive. Draft provides detailed description of project alternatives and their impact on the environment in the study area as well as the economic development of the surrounding communities and transportation patterns.
Draft Environmental Impact Statement, Orange line relocation and arterial street construction Vol 2
From the Internet Archive.
Southwest corridor environmental impact analysis, vol 1-4
From the Internet Archive.
Southwest corridor environmental impact analysis, vol 4 part 2
From the Internet Archive.
Southwest corridor environmental impact analysis, vol 5-7
From the Internet Archive.
Southwest corridor environmental impact analysis, vol 8
From the Internet Archive.
Environmental Impact Statement, Orange line relocation and arterial street construction, vol 2
From the Internet Archive. Provides detailed description of project alternatives and their impact on the environment in the study area as well as the economic development of the surrounding communities and transportation patterns. March 1978

CityLab Fall 2019 - Southwest Corridor: Online Resources

BAC Databases

Online Resources

Online Reports

Online Reports- MBTA