The Search All is located on the library homepage and is a great starting point for your research.
The search bar will search all BAC databases and the BAC library catalog, from books to peer-reviewed journal articles, simultaneously. All the results for your search will display together and can be sorted or filtered as needed. Please see below for more information on the research tools available through Search All.
After the initial search, you can continue to add filters by clicking the buttons below the search bar.
Full Text will only search for items you have full-text access to.
Peer Reviewed will only search for peer-reviewed articles.
All time filter will allow you to limit or expand your search results to items published since a certain time (past 12 months, 5 years, 10 years, all time).
All filters will allow you to add even more filters! You can select filters to search by database, material types, subject, and language.
If you want to start a brand new search, go to the left toolbar and under the Research Tools section, click on "New search." Voilà!
Clicking the "Advanced Search" button will allow you to search multiple search terms and narrow the scope of your research!
Add the "BAC Catalog" filter to only search the BAC Library Catalog, select "Peer Reviewed" to only search for peer-reviewed journal articles, and more.
Make sure to log in to your BAC account in order to gain full access to your search results.
To get the best out of the Search All interface, create a free EBSCO Account to organize your research project and save materials across devices. Click on "MyEBSCO" in the top right-hand corner and click "Create an account" (circled in red).
New features have been implemented to assist your research and help you keep track of your resources.
Once you are signed into your MyEBSCO account, you can start organizing your research materials. Under "My dashboard" (in the top left-hand corner) you will see various features that will help you organize and keep track of your resources during your research. Click the tabs above to learn about the features and what they do.
Use the "projects" feature to create folders and organize resources for your classes, assignments, and personal research. You can also assign due dates and add descriptions for each "project."
You can save resources you want to keep by clicking the save icon in the results list or item record. Find all of your saved resources under the Saved tab under My dashboard. To unsave a resource, click on the save icon circled in red.
Keep track of your search history. This can be a helpful tool to see what keywords you have used in your research.
You can also see which articles, books, and images you have viewed during your search.
If there are articles that you need for research that the library does not own in print, we may be able to supply a copy of the article from another library. Interlibrary Loan services are available to all BAC students, faculty, and staff for research purposes. To place a request, submit an Article ILL Request Form. As stated in the form, please make sure that the Library does not already have the article, as we can only fill requests for articles that are not available in our collection. Please note: if you are a faculty member for a distance or online education program, please use the Distance Article ILL Request Form.
It can be difficult to tell when you should be using Search All and when you should look just at the BAC Library Catalog. Here are some tips for making the decision:
| Search All | BAC Library Catalog |
|---|---|
| Includes all materials in the BAC Library Catalog. Also includes databases and journals. | Includes print materials (books, periodicals, magazines, files, etc) e-books, and DVDs that are owned by the BAC. Also includes thesis documents which are hosted on DSpace. |
| Use to search for journal articles and periodicals. Items accessible through BAC databases can be instantly read or downloaded; other items will need to be requested through Inter-Library Loan (ILL). | Helpful for finding physical books and e-books that you can access quickly. Will tell you which issues of periodicals are currently owned by the BAC Library. |
| Tips: Use Advanced Search tools to narrow the scope of your search. Log in to your BAC account before you start searching for easier access to articles. |
Tips: If looking at an e-book, be sure to click on the book title to go to its item record. From there, select "Click here to view e-book" to download a PDF. |
