Here are several databases that provide visual information and are useful for BAC coursework.
Artstor (located within JSTOR).
The BAC Visual Resources Library uploads architectural drawings (plans, sections, elevations, permit plans, site plans, sections, and diagrams) and other images into Artstor to support the coursework of the BAC each semester. The scope is local and global. In addition, there are images of paintings, sculpture/public art, landscape architecture and historical textiles. Here is an example of one of our four institutional collection; the BAC's Built Environment Collection.
Unique Artstor collections:
If you are searching for images relevant to climate change or other social issues, here are two collections that might be helpful:
Panos Pictures: specializes in documenting critical social issues. Images document urban and rural communities, diverse landscapes and the built environment.
Magnum Photos: specializes in photographs which capture major historical events. You will find images of societies, industry, politics, disasters, and conflicts from across the globe.
Sir Banister Fletcher's Global History of Architecture: The 21st edition of this 2 volume reference eBook from our Bloomsbury Architecture Library database reflects the latest scholarship in global architectural history. Over 2,200 photograps, drawings, and building plans are included. The book describes 5,500 years of architectural history.
Historic American Buildings Survey and Historic American Engineering Record: This database contains measured drawings, and photographs of building sites within the United States.
Compilation of Image Collections in a Research Guide: Here is an aggregate list of open access resources within a Brown University research guide that has been vetted by one of their librarians. Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web.
