Frederick Law Olmsted

See below for books about Frederick Law Olmsted. See also the BAC Library's lib guide about Frederick Law Olmsted.

Books - Main Stacks

"Of Greater Lasting Consequence": Frederick Law Olmsted and the Fate of Franklin Park, Boston
von Hoffman, Alexander, Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, v. 47, n. 4, p. 339-350
The Reformist Vision of Frederick Law Olmsted and the Poetics of Park Design
Scheper, George L., The New England Quarterly, v. 62, n.3, p. 369-402
The Genius of the Place: How Frederick Law Olmsted transformed American life
Valiunas, Algis, Commentary. March 2011, Vol. 131 Issue 3, p51, 4 p.
H.H. Richardson, Frederick Law Olmsted, and the house for Robert Treat Paine
Floyd, Margaret Henderson, Winterthur portfolio, 1983 Winter, v.18, n.4, p.[227]-248, photographs, site plan, plans, elevation, section, perspective drawings, references

Arnold Arboretum
Designed by Olmsted, located in Jamaica Plain, Boston. Includes history and visitor information.
Emerald Necklace - City of Boston
Complete list of parks that are connected through the Emerald Necklace. Includes visitor information.
Hubbard Park
Landscaped by Olmsted, located in Meriden, CT. Includes brief history and visitor information.
Seaside Park
Landscaped by Olmsted, located in Bridgeport, CT. Includes brief history and visitor information.
Frederick Law Olmsted National Historic Site
Run by the National Park Service, located in Brookline, MA. Includes visitor information. Organizes events and contains an archive of Olmsted historic material.
National Association for Olmsted Parks
A coalition dedicated to preserving the legacy of Frederick Law Olmsted. Includes extensive historical information, master list of Olmsted design projects, and archival projects.

Open the image group below and choose which ones you want to download from our Artstor/JSTOR database.

Frederick Law Olmsted: 190 images
Plans and images for Boston parks (Fenway, Arborway, Commonwealth, Franklin Park, Muddy River, and Wood Island), Prospect Park in New York City, Denison University, and others.
Olmsted: Central Park (NY): 39 images
Plans and photos.

Artstor digital images are provided for academic research.