Research Guides: Healthcare Architecture: Online Resources

Organizations for Architects and Health Facilities

American Academy of Healthcare Interior Designers
a non-profit organization that certifies interior architects who specialize in healthcare facilities. Their website includes industry news and information on how to become certified through AAHID.
AIA Academy of Architecture for Health
a division of AIA with the mission of documenting and disseminating information regarding healthcare design. Their website contains useful resources including newsletters, reports, and other documents related to health care design. The AIA's central website also includes a large knowledge repository of reports and articles on design and health.
Facility Guidelines Institute
a not-for-profit organization that offers tools and guidelines to the planning, design, and construction of healthcare and medical facilities.
New England ADA Center
a regional center that offers tools and resources for meeting ADA requirements.
Practice Greenhealth
a networking organization for professionals in the healthcare community dedicated to to operating in an eco-friendly, sustainable built environment. Their website also offers tools for designing and constructing green practices.
Therapeutic Landscapes Network
an online network for professionals working on landscape architecture that promote health and well-being.
VA Offuce of Construction and Facility Management- Technical Information Library
an online database of technical information and standards for constructing facilities for Veterans Affairs.

Healthcare Architecture- ArchDaily
ArchDaily is a daily blog that features a section of contemporary healthcare architectural projects.
Healthcare - Architectural Record
Architectural Record is an architectural journal. This links directly to articles on healthcare design available on their website.
Center for Health Desgign Knowledge Repository
Comprehensive database of the latest research for healthcare design.
Health Facilities Management
HFM Magazine is a publication by the American Society for Healthcare Engineering that covers current issues in the field of healthcare facility design, construction, and planning.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the National Institute of Health's National Library of Medicine.
Health Care Facilities- Whole Building Design Guide
This site offers articles about different types of healthcare facility buildings, and includes additional resources for architects, such as guides, manuals, and standards.