South Boston: Online Resources

This site provides basic statistics of demographics in the neighborhood South Boston.

Neighborhood guide to South Boston produced by the BRA that includes relevant recent documents, upcoming events, news, planning, projects, and research publications.

2010-2014 American Community Survey comparing the United States, Massachusetts, Boston, and Boston's neighborhoods across several social, economic, and housing characteristics.

To promote and foster participation in the civic life of the City Point neighborhood in South Boston; to enhance and strengthen the community through neighborhood activities and other programs which serve the needs and interests of Association members and neighborhood residents; to provide generally for the welfare of the neighborhood and the South Boston community of which it is a part.

Information about publicly accessible artworks in Boston, information about the public art process in Boston, calls to artists, and news on current projects.

This website provides a general overview of the neighborhood South Boston within the context of the city of Boston.

CaughtInSouthie is a neighborhood magazine founded by two people from the area that want to provide news, entertainment, housing information, and restaurant tips for the area.

Combines new and old maps to study the site.

Contains collection of insurance maps, useful for site analyses and researching how locations used to look.

The Boston Pictorial Archive holds photographs and prints documenting Boston's Beacon Hill neighborhood in the 19th century, with the bulk of the material ranging from 1811 to 1865. Images include historic buildings and street scenes, as well as the excavation of Beacon Hill in 1811.

This site provides access to photographs, manuscripts, books, audio recordings, and other materials of historical interest that have been digitized and made available by members of Digital Commonwealth, a statewide consortium of libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies from across Massachusetts.

With more than 110,000 objects and one million archival materials, Historic New England's collection includes photographs, wallpaper, jewelry, home furnishings, architectural drawings, clothing, and more, telling the story of New England's history. Numerous documents related to historic South Boston are available.