We have 4 institutional image collections that can be searched within Artstor. These images are often embedded as links in our BAC Research Library Guides and are associated with course projects. For example, a course may require students to investigate/research the Brooklyn Bridge Park. The BAC Visual Resources Library scanned and uploaded images (renderings, axonometric projections, maps, plans, etc.) of the park into Artstor. You’ll find links to some of the Brooklyn Bridge Park images under the heading of Images / Video (scroll down to the bottom of the page) in the Research Guide (FND2011 - SUSTAINABLE MATERIAL ASSEMBLIES).
We have 4 instiutional collections which can be searched through this link.
You'll see this on the web page.
If you scroll down from here, you'll see the following four collecitons (on your cell phone, you'll see the collections come up 2 over 2):
Public images originate from academic collections such as Cornell University and Colby College. These institutions have chosen to allow patrons to use their images for research even if the patron is not a part of their academic community. Here is an example of such a collection (the University of Cincinnati: World Architecture). The University of Cincinnati could have restricted the collection to only their community but, instead, the university is allowing students/faculty outside of their community (such as the BAC) to view and download their images.
Artstor images originate from museums, photographic archives, architectural firms, non-profit arts organizations, photo agencies, libraries, and scholars. Here is an Artstor collection example (contemporary photos of the Hagia Sophia).
